Reception for Todd Foreman on Thursday

The campus community is invited to join us Thursday, March 22, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. in Craven Lounge to send well wishes to Todd Foreman as he embarks upon his new role as Vice President for Finance and Administration at SUNY Albany. There will be remarks at noon, and light refreshments will be served.

Farewell wishes can also be posted using the following link: Farewell wishes for Todd Foreman   (Use your credentials to log in).

Questions can be directed to the Office of Finance and Administration at x2081.

Congratulations to Kathy Hewlett

Congratulations to Kathy Hewlett, who works at the Information Desk/Box Office at Hunt Union. She successfully completed an online digital badge course on Student Employee Supervision developed and sponsored by the Association of College Unions International (ACUI).

Four Faculty Awarded 2017/18 SUNY IITG Grants

Congratulations to the following faculty members who have been awarded grants from the 2017/18 SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants (IITG) program.

  • Elizabeth Bastiaans (Biology): $10,000 for the project “Lighting the SPARC of Scientific Collaboration: A Proposal to Add Two SUNY Campuses to a Regional Conservation Biology Network” (with co-PI Michael Losito of SUNY Cobleskill)
  • Keith Jones (Mathematics, Computer Science & Statistics): $9,800 for the project “Development and Assessment of Openly Available WeBWorK Problem Sets for Underserved Mathematics Courses”
  • Sean Robinson (Biology): $20,000 for the project “Scaling Up the SUNY Virtual Herbarium Network”
  • Junryo Watanabe (Biology): $9,500 for the project “Flipping the Classroom: A Multipronged Approach to Retention of Academically Underprepared STEM Majors”

The IITG program was highly competitive this year; of 67 proposals submitted, 28 were selected for funding, including all four projects submitted by SUNY Oneonta.


Students Elected to College Foundation Board of Directors

Congratulations to the following students who were elected to the College at Oneonta Foundation Board of Directors at the April 14, 2017 board meeting.  All terms begin in June 2017.

 Taylor DeMarco, Class of 2018, Elected as a Student Director

  • Major: Adolescent Education, minor in Mathematics
  • Extracurricular activities: Secretary of the Association of Secondary Educators, Resident Advisor in Sherman Hall, Honorary member on the College at Oneonta Foundation Board
  • Hometown: Marlboro, NY
  • Currently an Honorary Director

 Julie Steinhauer, Class of 2019, Elected as a Student Director

  • Major: International Studies
  • Extracurricular activities: Oneonta Women’s Varsity Soccer, Member of Dr. Joe Heissan Leadership Academy, Soccer clinics (travel to local school districts to teach children the fundamentals of soccer)
  • Hometown: East Syracuse, NY

 Cheyenne Pommelle, Class of 2019, Elected as an Honorary Director

  • Major: Biology
  • Extracurricular Activities: Students of Color Coalition, Hall Government Secretary, Participant in Parasitology Research with Dr. Florian Reyda (we will be presenting our research in the 2017 Student Research and Creativity Day), Dance Club “Xclusive,” Volunteer and Presenter for Oneonta Diversity and Leadership Conference.
  • Hometown: Harlem, NY

James Bethel, Class of 2019, Elected as an Honorary Director

  • Major: Secondary Education with a concentration in Biology
  • Extracurricular activities: Captain of the Wresting Team, Community Service through the Gorilla Grapplers Wrestling Club, Student Athlete Association Council (SAAC) Team Representative
  • Hometown: Saugerties, NY

The Foundation is governed by a board of directors comprised of alumni, current and retired faculty, students and friends of SUNY Oneonta.  The Foundation’s endowment and total assets are $53 million and provide over $3 million annually for student research, faculty development, scholarships and numerous campus programs.

The mission of the State University College at Oneonta Foundation Corporation is to raise and administer gifts and grants to enhance the academic status of the college through endowment, scholarships and institutional programs.


Students Present Research at SURC East and West

Congratulations to the SUNY Oneonta students who presented research projects at the SUNY Undergraduate Research Conference (SURC) on April 21 (at Suffolk County Community College–SURC East) and April 22 (SUNY Fredonia–SURC West). One student attended and presented at SURC East. Six students attended and presented at SUNY Fredonia, accompanied by faculty members Chien-Wei Lin and Kristen Roosa, and Kathy Meeker of the Grants Development Office. Student attendees/presenters are bolded in the project titles below. Thank you, students and faculty, for representing SUNY Oneonta at SURC with these impressive projects!

Student: Brian Adrian
Faculty mentor: Philip Sirianni (Economics, Finance & Accounting)
Oral presentation: “A Study of the New York Craft Brewing Industry and Alcohol-related Motor Vehicle Accident Rates”

Students: Celena Chiu, Dina Rose Cornell, Anthony Santor
Faculty mentor: Chien-Wei Lin (Management, Marketing & Information Systems)
Poster presentation: “The Influence of Cause Marketing Alliance on Donation Types”

Student: Thomas Franzem
Faculty mentor: Daniel Stich (Biology)
Oral presentation: “Factors Impacting Amphibian Abundance in Anthropogenic Vernal Pools”

Students: Paula Rebancos, Shannon Crehan
Faculty mentor: Kristen Roosa
Poster presentation: “Effect of the Circadian Rhythm on Phosphoramide Mustard-induced Toxicity in the Urinary System”

Students: Christopher Santana, Meaghan Kincaid, Christian Lopez
Faculty mentor: Chien-Wei Lin (Management, Marketing & Information Systems)
Poster presentation: “The Financial Motivations of Cause Marketing Campaigns”

Congratulations English Department Award Winners

Susan Sutton Smith Scholarship Award…..….Cheyenne Dorsagno
Susan Sutton Smith Award…………………….Anna Paige Welch
Susan Sutton Smith Award………………….……Amber Mercado
Minnie P. Olive Memorial Award. ……….….………Aliya Ladha
Minnie P. Olive Memorial Award. ……….….….Rebecca Pollard
Harry Bloom Prize: Fiction Writing ……………. Jason Birkelbach
Goodrich Prize: Poetry.….…..……….………….Jonathan Albert
Goodrich Prize: Poetry Honorable Mention…………Gemma Pinto
Goodrich Prize: Creative Non-Fiction & Memoir…..Anna Graziosi
Goodrich Prize: Personal Essay…………………..Caitlyn Conway
Goodrich Prize: Critical Essay………………Cheyenne Dorsagno