Field hockey team honored for academic excellence

SUNY ONEONTA Field Hockey Team Honored for Academic Excellence

Six Players Earn Individual Academic Honors from NFHCA

GILBERT, Ariz. β€” The National Field Hockey Coaches Association has announced its Division III National Academic Individual and Teams for the Fall 2018 season, and SUNY Oneonta was one of 131 schools to earn team honors. This year, 1,746 student-athletes from 147 Division III institutions also earned recognition on the 2018 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad.

Oneonta was eligible for the National Academic Team Award by compiling a combined team grade point average of greater than a 3.0 for the fall semester. The Division III National Academic Squad program honors student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year.

A total of six Red Dragons earned recognition as part of the National Academic Squad for their work in the classroom. The honorees include senior Carissa Warren, junior Danell Jones, sophomore Carly Byman and freshmen Carly Eaton, Emily Raymond and Alex Ryan. Jones is being recognized for a third time while Byman is earning honors for a second time.

The Red Dragons finished 10-9 overall and 5-1 in the SUNYAC earning a second place finish during the regular season. This is the 14th time since 2004 and the 13th consecutive year the team has earned national honors.