Applications for annual Outstanding Part-time Instructor award due 9/24

The Academic Excellence Committee is now accepting nominations for the 2018-2019 Outstanding Part-Time Instructor Award. The Simphiwe Hlatshwayo Award for the Outstanding Part-Time Instructor, which comes with a $500 cash prize, was created by the College Senate to recognize outstanding adjunct instructors as well as to encourage excellence in teaching. The award was named to honor the memory of Simphiwe Hlatshwayo, who was a graduate of SUNY Oneonta from South Africa and taught at SUNY Oneonta first as an adjunct, then later as an assistant professor.

Eligibility: Part-time instructors who have taught a minimum of one course section in at least two of the past four semesters (i.e., fall 2016, spring 2017, fall 2017, spring 2018) are eligible.


1. Recognition of exemplary teaching among part-time instructors, and

2. Public promotion of the contributions of part-time instructors to SUNY-Oneonta.

Selection criteria:

1. Evidence of the nominee’s outstanding teaching in traditional classroom or/and nontraditional settings at SUNY Oneonta, and

2. Evidence that nominee is active in his or her field and applies his or her outside experience and expertise to instructional activities on campus.

Nomination Process: Part-time instructors may nominate themselves or be nominated by other members of the faculty regardless of rank. They may also be nominated by students.

Nominations must include:

1. Statement of nomination indicating how the nominee meets the selection criteria.

2. Current vita or resume of the nominee.

3. Two letters of support, at least one of which must be from a faculty member. The other may be from college staff or faculty or from a student, colleague, or community member with knowledge of the nominee’s instructional abilities.

4. A syllabus for each semester under consideration (syllabi may be for the same course taught in different semesters).

Important dates:

Monday, September 24, 2018: Deadline to submit all application materials electronically to Written materials should be submitted as a single PDF.

Week of October 15, 2018: Successful applicant will be notified.

Thursday, November 8, 2018: Successful applicant will receive the $500 prize and be recognized at the Community of Scholars Reception.

The selection committee includes the Provost, the Academic Deans, and members of the Academic Excellence Committee. The Academic Excellence Committee is comprised of past recipients of the Susan Sutton Smith Prize Joseph Pignato (Chair), Florian Reyda and Matthew Hendley, as well as past recipients of the Richard Siegfried Prize, William Walker, Kristen Blinne and Tyra Olstad.