History Department gives awards, inducts new members

The History Department’s Awards & Phi Alpha Theta Induction Ceremony was held Friday, April 13, 2018, in Le Café at Morris Conference Center. The special guest was Elizabeth Mosher, Daughters of the American Revolution State Chairperson and SUNY Oneonta alumna. The Department is pleased to announce the following:

Award recipients:  Tierney Lynch – Academic Achievement Award for Outstanding Senior in History; Kaitlin Hair – Daughters of the American Revolution Award; Gary Frank – Ethel Ray & Ada Crippen Award; Waldo Espinosa – Redfield History Student Award; Mary Sawyer – World History Award; Ezekiel Davis – Sam Caplen History Service Award; Brittany Williams – Michael Wright Memorial Book Award in American History; and Kaitlin Hair – Michael Wright Memorial Book Award in European History.

Winners of the Maynard Redfield Essay Competition are: Bailey Riekkinen – Introductory Essay, Kelly Tenbus – Short Essay, and Tierney Lynch – Long Essay.  Honorable Mentions are:  Rachel Miller – Introductory Essay, Brittany Williams – Short Essay, Kaitlin Hair – Long Essay.

New members inducted into SUNY Oneonta’s Alpha-Kappa-Iota chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the National History Honor Society, are:  Ronald Bartlett, Jonathan Beckwith, Sarah Horne, Ian Leggett, Carissa Locatelli, Emily Lyons, Kevin Meyers, Emily Stephenson, and Kelly Tenbus.