Dr. Brett Heindl to present the Ashok Kumar Malhotra Seva (Compassionate Service) Lecture

Provost Dr. James E. Mackin is pleased to announce that Dr. Brett Heindl (Associate Professor of Political Science) is the 2017 winner of the Ashok Kumar Malhotra Seva Faculty Award and will deliver this year’s lecture titled, “ ‘We Talk and We Talk’: The Challenges and Rewards of Participatory Decision-Making in Community Development,” on Tuesday, October 3 at 7:00 p.m. in Morris Craven Lounge.

Created in 2008 to recognize faculty service both in and outside the classroom, the Ashok Kumar Malhotra Seva Faculty Award is made possible by an endowment from Dr. Ashok Kumar Malhotra, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor of Philosophy, to the College at Oneonta Foundation. Criteria for receiving the $1,000 award include: community service – locally, nationally, or internationally, the ability to motivate and inspire others to perform community service, and the integration of community service in the teaching and learning process.

The lecture is free and open to the public. A dessert reception precedes the lecture.