Free Printer Cartridge/Toner

The Geography and Environmental Sustainability Department has multiple print cartridges and toner that we are giving away. If you’d like any please email by Wednesday, May 3rd.

  • HP LaserJet Print Cartridge 12A
  • HP Color LaserJet Print Cartridge Black Q3960A
  • HP Color LaserJet Print Cartridge Yellow Q3962A
  • HP Color LaserJet Print Cartridge Magenta Q3963A
  • HP Color LaserJet Print Cartridge Cyan Q3961A
  • HP Color LaserJet Print Cartridge Cyan CB401A
  • LD Laser Toner Cartridge LD-CE505X
  • Toner Cartridge C44096A
  • HP DeskJet Ink Cartridge 98 Black C9664WN


Congratulations English Department Award Winners

Susan Sutton Smith Scholarship Award…..….Cheyenne Dorsagno
Susan Sutton Smith Award…………………….Anna Paige Welch
Susan Sutton Smith Award………………….……Amber Mercado
Minnie P. Olive Memorial Award. ……….….………Aliya Ladha
Minnie P. Olive Memorial Award. ……….….….Rebecca Pollard
Harry Bloom Prize: Fiction Writing ……………. Jason Birkelbach
Goodrich Prize: Poetry.….…..……….………….Jonathan Albert
Goodrich Prize: Poetry Honorable Mention…………Gemma Pinto
Goodrich Prize: Creative Non-Fiction & Memoir…..Anna Graziosi
Goodrich Prize: Personal Essay…………………..Caitlyn Conway
Goodrich Prize: Critical Essay………………Cheyenne Dorsagno



BIOL 271 students contribute microplastic samples to a global microplastic pollution data repository

Students in Fall 2016 BIOL 271 (Janine Clark, Richelle Cremo, Emily Manley, Blair O’Brien, Sydney O’Gorman, Rafael Olan, Jr., Jaime Rinaldi, and Silas Sleeper) (instructor: Kiyoko Yokota) collected beached plastic wastes on beaches on Chichijima (父島), Ogasawara Islands, Japan, during their faculty-lead study abroad in December 2016 to January 2017 as experiential and service learning activities.  The team also collected and contributed sea water samples to the Global Microplastics Initiative ( Our samples covered an area that was not studied by the 2014 Trans Pacific Plastic Pollution Survey by Matt Rutherford and his colleagues ( and provide new insights into the fate of suspended microplastics through the complex ocean currents that travel over the ~ 10 km (~ 6.3 miles) deep Izu-Ogasawara Trench. The final lab results were recently made available by the Principal Investigator Abby Barrows at

Dr. Izabella Lokshina participates in Wireless Telecommunications Symposium 2017

Dr. Izabella Lokshina (Management, Marketing and Information Systems) participated with two invited papers in the Wireless Telecommunications Symposium 2017 (WTS 2017), held in Chicago, Illinois on April 26-28, 2017 and co-sponsored by the IEEE Communications Society. Additionally, Dr. Lokshina served as Healthcare track co-chair at the WTS 2017.

One paper is entitled “Redesigning the Healthcare Model to Address Obesity Problem Using the Integration of Processes and Mobile Technologies: Facing a Worldwide Epidemic in an Innovative Manner” and co-authored with Dr. Barbara Durkin (Management, Marketing and Information Systems). Another paper is entitled “Qualitative evaluation of IoT-driven eHealth” and co-authored with Dr. Cees Lanting (DATSA Belgium, Consulting). Dr. Lanting is the School of Economics and Business (SEB)’s Business Advisory Council member. Both papers have been published in the IEEE WTS 2017 Proceedings.

*The IEEE is a non-profit, technical professional association of more than 360,000 individual members in approximately 175 countries. Through its members, the IEEE is a leading authority in technical areas ranging from computer engineering, biomedical technology and telecommunications, to electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics, among others. The IEEE Communications Society is a community comprised of a diverse group of industry professionals with a common interest in advancing all communications technologies. To that end, the Society sponsors publications, conferences, educational programs, local activities, and technical committees that foster original work in all aspects of communications science, engineering, and technology.

Dr. Barbara Durkin presents paper at 50th Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences

Dr. Barbara Durkin (Management, Marketing and Information Systems) presented the paper, Data Analysis Services Related to the IoT and Big Data: Potential Business Opportunities for Third Parties, at the 50th Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences on January 6, 2017.

The paper, co-authored with Dr. Izabella Lokshina (Management, Marketing and Information Systems) and Dr. Cees Lanting (Member, Business Advisory Committee),  reviewed for the first time the business models and opportunities for third-party data analysis services related to Big Data and the Internet of Things (IoT).  It considered the strategic implications for small businesses that use the IoT in data-driven ecosystems.

An extended version of the conference paper has been recently published in an academic peer-reviewed journal with a low acceptance rate and high impact factor: Lokshina, I. V., Durkin, B. J., & Lanting, C. J. M. (2017). Data Analysis Services Related to the IoT and Big Data: Strategic Implications and Business Opportunities for Third Parties. International Journal of Interdisciplinary Telecommunications and Network Design and Networking, 9(2), pp. 37–56.

Ashbaugh Delivers Conable Distinguished Lecture at RIT

On April 18, 2017, William Ashbaugh, Professor and Chair, Department of History, delivered this year’s Conable Distinguished Lecture for the College of Liberal Arts at Rochester Institute of Technology. His forty-five minute presentation, “A Brief History of Japanese Anime Fandom and Mobile Suit Gundam’s First Thirty-Eight Years,” was followed by another forty-five minutes of questions from students and interested faculty.

The lecture series honors the legacy of Barber Conable, Jr., a ten-term upstate New York Republican Congressman in the 1970s and 1980s who then became president of the World Bank for five years. During World War II he learned to speak Japanese and fought in the Battle of Iwo Jima. When the Korean War began, Conable re-enlisted. He is most famous for coining the term “smoking gun” during the Watergate hearings.

Oneonta faculty and students form local chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon mathematics honor society

Phi Mu Epsilon

On Friday, April 21, a ceremony was held to induct 32 students and 6 faculty into SUNY Oneonta’s newly created local chapter of the Pi Mu Epsilon honor society for mathematics. This represented the culmination of two years of joint effort by Dr. Jonathan Brown and undergraduate students Melissa Haig, Taylor Zelka, Mark Sweatlock, Rachael Caterisano, Emily Thresher, and Danielle Grieco.

Founded in 1914 and currently consisting of 334 member institutions nationwide, Pi Mu Epsilon aims to promote mathematics and recognize students who successfully pursue mathematical understanding. The society achieves its goals by publishing a semi-annual journal for publishing refereed undergraduate work, as well as interesting mathematical problems, as well as by supporting conferences, providing grants, and providing awards to distinguished undergraduates.

The induction ceremony featured a presentation on the history and activities of the society by Dr. Jennifer Bieneke, of Western New England University and representing the National Pi Mu Epsilon Council, as well as a presentation on Platonic Solids and the Euler Characteristic by Dr. Keith Jones.