History Department’s Awards & Phi Alpha Theta Inductions

The History Department’s Awards & Phi Alpha Theta Induction Ceremony was held Friday, April 7, 2017, at 3:00 pm in Craven Lounge, Morris Conference Center.  Special guest:  Elizabeth Mosher, Daughters of the American Revolution State Chairperson and SUNY Oneonta alumna.  The Department is pleased to announce the following.

Award recipients:  Madelyn Nicolini—Academic Achievement Award for Outstanding Senior in History; Matthew Hitchen—Daughters of the American Revolution Award; Kim-Lien Trotta—Ethel Ray & Ada Crippen Award; Elise North-Kirkman—Sam Caplen History Service Award; Kyle Bennett—Michael Wright Memorial Book Award in American History; and Gary Frank—Michael Wright Memorial Book Award in European History.

Winners of the Maynard Redfield Essay Competition are:  Kristina DeVenezia—Freshman/Intro. Essay, Meagan Moore—Short Essay, and Madelyn Nicolini—Long Essay.  Honorable Mentions are:  Mary Sausville—Freshman/Intro. Essay, Brett Peters—Short Essay, Giovanna DiFilippo—Long Essay, and Ian Reill—Long Essay.

New members inducted into SUNY Oneonta’s Alpha-Kappa-Iota chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the National History Honor Society, are:  Abigail Adams, Drew Breyfogle, MacKenzie Brown, Maxwell Chin, Adriana Delker, Kaitlin Hair, Tierney Lynch, Elizabeth Meyers, Brian Roser, Jennifer Sanchez, Evan Sanders, Caleb Seibert, Daniel Vallario, and Brittany Williams.