Welcome Center Construction Activity

Weather depending, and beginning on or about MON APR 17, the contractor will be applying the asphalt “barrier” on the Welcome Center roof.  The asphalt will give off an odor not unlike that of paving. The process will require about 3 work days. If you have any questions, please contact Facilities at XT 3224.

History Department’s Awards & Phi Alpha Theta Inductions

The History Department’s Awards & Phi Alpha Theta Induction Ceremony was held Friday, April 7, 2017, at 3:00 pm in Craven Lounge, Morris Conference Center.  Special guest:  Elizabeth Mosher, Daughters of the American Revolution State Chairperson and SUNY Oneonta alumna.  The Department is pleased to announce the following.

Award recipients:  Madelyn Nicolini—Academic Achievement Award for Outstanding Senior in History; Matthew Hitchen—Daughters of the American Revolution Award; Kim-Lien Trotta—Ethel Ray & Ada Crippen Award; Elise North-Kirkman—Sam Caplen History Service Award; Kyle Bennett—Michael Wright Memorial Book Award in American History; and Gary Frank—Michael Wright Memorial Book Award in European History.

Winners of the Maynard Redfield Essay Competition are:  Kristina DeVenezia—Freshman/Intro. Essay, Meagan Moore—Short Essay, and Madelyn Nicolini—Long Essay.  Honorable Mentions are:  Mary Sausville—Freshman/Intro. Essay, Brett Peters—Short Essay, Giovanna DiFilippo—Long Essay, and Ian Reill—Long Essay.

New members inducted into SUNY Oneonta’s Alpha-Kappa-Iota chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the National History Honor Society, are:  Abigail Adams, Drew Breyfogle, MacKenzie Brown, Maxwell Chin, Adriana Delker, Kaitlin Hair, Tierney Lynch, Elizabeth Meyers, Brian Roser, Jennifer Sanchez, Evan Sanders, Caleb Seibert, Daniel Vallario, and Brittany Williams.

Faculty Opportunities for Funding: Problem Based Learning and Applied Learning

There are two excellent opportunities for faculty funding currently available.  Both are for redesign of a current course or development of new learning event for students.  The Problem Based Learning application is due April 17th and the Applied Learning Application is due April 24th.  To learn more about these opportunities or to apply please check out the details on The Faculty Center Webpage found at http://www.oneonta.edu/faculty-center/awards-funding.asp

Annual Student Juried Art Exhibition 2017

The Martin-Mullen Art Gallery in the Fine Arts Building will host the Annual Student Juried Art Exhibition 2017, April 10 – May 13, weekdays 11:00 am – 5:00 pm or by arrangement.  Over 100 works by student artists will be on display.

A reception for the artists include a presentation of 24 awards worth $2,900 along with live music and food to be held Thursday, April 13, 5:00 – 7:00 pm.  Awards include the Jean Parish Art on Campus Award, George E. Zimmerman Memorial Award, the Martin-Mullen Art Gallery Award and the Golden Artist Colors, Inc.  The cash awards are supported by gifts made to the Foundation at Oneonta.

Award recipients include:  Dina Atwa, Madison Blodgett, Tyler Burke, David Cervone, Annamarie Evans, Robert Fisher, Anna Graziosi, Izabella Gusozski, Marissa Hogan, Kassidy Kievit, Amelia Lee, Wingman Lee, Terrence McCabe, Teresa Memole, Noelle Odell, Richard Page, Kathryn Polletta, Alexandra Sakoulas, Danielle Thomas, Briela Tollisen, Anna Vanderpool, Crystal Wyllie and Xiaoyi Zeng.