Tracy Betsinger, Anthropology, co-organizes two sessions for the annual meeting of the American Anthropological Association

Tracy Betsinger, Anthropology, co-organized (with Sallie Han) two sessions for the annual meeting of the American Anthropological Association held in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The two sessions, “Discovering Evidence of Care from the Four Fields of Anthropology: Health and Reproduction” and “Discovering Evidence of Care from Four Fields of Anthropology: Others and Mothers,” brought together scholars from archaeology, biological anthropology, and cultural anthropology, to share their research projects and find areas of common interest and overlap. Additionally, she co-authored one of the papers in the latter session, “The Evolving Role of ‘Motherhood’ among Late Prehistoric Communities in East Tennessee: From Tradition ‘Mother’ to ‘Community Mother.’

Milne Library is Open Extended Hours for Finals Study

Extended Hours for finals — Sunday, December 11  – Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2016
Tuesday, Dec. 13 is Study Day; Finals begin Wednesday, December 14 and end Tuesday, December 20, 2016 

  • Sunday, December 11 – Friday December 16        Open 12 Noon Sunday through 11 PM Friday
  • Saturday, December 17                                                Open 12 Noon through 11 PM
  • Sunday, December 18 – Tuesday, December 20   Open 12 Noon Sunday through 6 PM Tuesday

Intersession Hours — Wednesday, December 21, 2016 – Saturday, January 14, 2017
(Thursday, December 22, dorms close at noon)

  • Wednesday, December 21 & Thursday, December 22    Open 8 AM – 4:30 PM
  • Friday, Dec. 23 –  Sunday, January 2, 2017                       CLOSED  
  • Tuesday, January 3 – Saturday, Jan 14, 2017
    • Monday – Friday                                                              Open 8 AM – 4:30 PM
    • Saturday & Sunday                                                          CLOSED
  • Sunday, January 15, 2017                                                         Open 12 Noon through 8 PM
  • Monday, January 16 and Tuesday, January 17                    Open 8 AM to 8 PM
  • Wednesday, January 18 (Classes begin) RESUME REGULAR HOURS