Fida Mohammad Publishes Article in Peer-Review Journal

Fida Mohammad, Sociology Department at SUNY Oneonta, and Iffat Tabassum of the Geography Department at the University of Peshawar, published an article in 2016 entitled: “Geography, Insurgency in the Pashtun Belt along Durand Line, Pak-Afghan Border,” in Central Asia, No. 74 (1) pp. 89-102. Central Asia is a peer-reviewed journal issued by the Area Study Center (Russia, China & Central Asia) at the University of Peshawar, KPK, Pakistan.

Reminder: Invitation to Faculty and Staff to attend Pass Through the Pillars on August 28

All faculty and staff are invited to attend the annual tradition of Pass Through the Pillars on Sunday, August 28 starting at 7pm in the upper quad by the Pillars. Please join in to clap, cheer and welcome our incoming students as they walk through the Pillars of Old Main and start their journey as Red Dragons! An ice cream social will be held immediately afterward, along with a block party with the Inter Greek Council.  If you have any questions or wish to volunteer for the event, please contact the Office of Alumni Engagement at x2526.

Earth and Atmospheric Sciences were Hosts for Third Annual Conference

The Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences was the host for the Third Annual Geologic Field Conference of the New York Earth Science Teachers Association (NYESTA) from July 20-22. The conference began with an observing session at the College’s Observatory, graciously hosted by Jason Smolinski (Physics and Astronomy). The main portion of the conference comprised two field trips led by James Ebert. An all-day field trip on July 21 was entitled “Snapshots from Deep Time: Geologic History of East Central New York – Precambrian to Upper Devonian.” A half-day field trip on July 22 explored “Caves and Karst Geology of the Cobleskill Plateau.” Les Hasbargen and Deep Sen (Earth and Atmospheric Sciences) assisted with both field trips. The half-day trip was followed by a series of round robin workshops. The conference concluded with a banquet and awards ceremony.

The Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences expresses their gratitude to Lisa Hoffman, Graig Eichler, Wende Ebberts, Dave Geasey, Barry Haney and the staff of the Print Shop for helping to make the conference a great success.