Eight Faculty Selected for Sustainable Susquehanna Workshop

Eight faculty members have been selected to participate in this year’s Sustainable Susquehanna Faculty Development Workshop from May 19-20. Coordinated by Sustainability Coordinator Hannah Morgan, the workshop focuses on integrating sustainability across the curriculum through course revision or new course development. The faculty members who participate in the workshop receive an honorarium of $1,000 upon completion of a new or revised syllabus, with the intent to teach the course within three or four semesters. So far, 25 faculty from diverse teaching backgrounds, including psychology, English, sociology, communication arts, fashion, math, computer science and anthropology, have received training through this workshop.

The workshop is based off the Piedmont Project at Emory University and has been endorsed by the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE). Faculty are selected based on their discipline, rank, past participating, class size and application. The following faculty have been selected to participate in the workshop this year:

• Dr. Nicole Wade, Secondary Education
• Dr. Thor Gibbins, Secondary Education
• Dr. Jim Ebert, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
• Dr. Les Hasbargen, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
• Dr. Tyra Olstad, Geography and Environmental Sustainability
• Dr. Andrea Denekamp, English
• Dr. Frank Thornton, Educational Psychology, Counseling and Special Education
• Dr. Ashley Kim, Human Ecology